Your basket is empty

We ship worldwide. The postage rates for your order are displayed before payment, which is processed using Paypal. You can pay using your Paypal account or any of the following cards:

Pay pal credit cards

Join our mailing list
Lone Official Tuckassee Take

Lone Official
Tuckassee Take


'... a record to spend time with, to hear and re-hear in order to assimilate its many nuances' (Mojo).

After the century turned, Matt Button left Louisville, Kentucky, where they make post-rock and baseball bats, and memorialise the birthplace of Muhammad Ali, and headed south to Nashville, in search of musical inspiration. He’d been working on a few songs with his only friend there at the time, Josh Garcia. Within weeks he was pulling beer at the infamous Springwater Club: one night Matt went to the microphone with his guitar, solo; soon after, he was joined by drummer Ben Martin (who’d played with Lambchop and Justin Earle), then others. This was the start of Lone Official.

The band was soon recording and playing dates. Alongside Matt and Ben were Sam El Amri (guitar), Brian Nicholls (lap steel), Ryan Norris (keyboards), and Eric Williams (bass). Local luminaries Lambchop were so impressed they named a song after them, on the Aw C’mon album. Leader Kurt Wagner remembers: 'The way they put intricate melodies together was very interesting in a ‘post-rock’ kind of way. Lambchop was strongly affected by this and I specifically set out to emulate those qualities – although what came out sounded nothing like the Lone Official at all except perhaps in spirit.’

When the time came to record the tales of Tuckassee Take, it was only natural for the group to knock on the door of Lambchop member and producer, Mark Nevers, who had worked with Will Oldham, Silver Jews, and Bobby Bare: the Tuckassee sessions ran alongside his recording of Candi Staton, His Hands. For the album, Lone Official were joined by their friends – and stalwarts of Nevers’ Beech House set-up – Paul Niehaus, Pete Finney, William Tyler, Roy Agee and Tony Crow.

So, thirteen songs about bad luck and good faith, in amongst horse tracks, rehab centres and dive bars; shifting quickly through rock, country and jazz; one minute lyrical and spare, the next roaring.

All our MP3 downloads are high quality 256Kbps or 320Kbps  
Pony Ride MP3 £0.50
Fight Song MP3 £0.50
Stall Of The Steed MP3 £0.50
Amelia Earhart MP3 £0.50
Monarchos MP3 £0.50
Bacon Creek MP3 £0.50
Sleepy Time Down South MP3 £0.50
Aught Years MP3 £0.50
Le Coq Sportif MP3 £0.50
Lost My Ass MP3 £0.50
Country Strong MP3 £0.50
Pretty Waters MP3 £0.50
Dumb Waiter MP3 £0.50
Download all MP3 £5.00